Life Put a Lot on my Plate.


You know those days where you wake up hungry?

And you just want something satisfying, quick, tried and true?

Hooray for cereal!

Kashi Autumn Wheat, Fiber One at the bottom, half a banana, and a dosing of soy milk.

Good thing I was hungry, because today, life put a lot on my plate.

1. My sister got into her 3rd car accident while backing out of a driveway.

Thankfully, neither she or her friend were hurt, and the damage to the car is purely cosmetic.

2. I saw a truck knowingly wrench a power line from its pole, and leave it sprawling across the street.

Seriously? I arrived just in time to see the truck squirming around, knowing it was caught on something, then drive up the hill like nobody’s business once it was free.

3. I could not report this incident myself because my cell phone has horrible reception on that street.

Because I didn’t have the police’s number, I tried to call 911, but all I heard from the end was, “Hello? You’re cutting out.” I need to graduate from Virgin Mobile. I had the next person who drove by report it; she’s probably with Verizon.

4. My sister likes kale chips.

Yes, this is up there with car accidents. Because my sister is such a picky eater that I never thought that she would actually try them.

All I did was:

  • rinse the kale in water and give a whirl in the salad spinner
  • massage kale with olive oil, dill weed, and some sea salt
  • bake in the oven at 400 F for 13 minutes
  • hope for the best

I can’t believe it.

(evidence of both our hands in the bowl)

Round out the day with a treadmill workout, another 30 minutes shredding with Jillian, and dinner out with the sister and Dad…that’s a lot of day to digest.

I even got sis (on the left) to try some of my polenta and vegetable melt!

Terrible lighting, wonderful dish.

Oh, and the tree is decorated!

A lot on my plate, but all of it was joyful in the end.

Leave a Reply

