Pain is Temporary, Pride is Forever


That’s the mantra I was chanting in my head at the dentist today.

Usually, I’m like a teacher’s pet when it comes to teeth cleanings. I’ve never had a cavity, and after a few especially unpleasant unusually torturous years of braces, I’ve learned to take care of my teeth. But when I was living in Jordan, floss was hard to find and very expensive. So…yeah…it didn’t happen. Never again! My molars are still ringing with pain from that more-intense-than-usual scrubdown.

Today was painful. But the more important matter of the day wasn’t:

RUGBY WEIGHT TRAINING!

I already have calluses forming on my palms. And I love it.

I woke up to go to CoreYoga with Mom this morning not feeling the best; however, I flashed forward to how great I always feel after class, and got the motivation to roll out of bed. Exercise really can be a miracle cure! My headache is (mostly) gone, and the cold is disappearing. That’s not to say the Emergen-C consumption is going away anytime soon, though!

So that I wouldn’t feel too worn out, I headed to the gym around 4 PM; that way, my muscles could rest a bit from their AM sculpting sesh. I promise to post the actual workout plan soon, but essentially, 3 days a week consist of cardio in the morning and weights in the afternoon. I warmed up for 12 minutes on the treadmill at 6.0 MPH, did a bit of dynamic stretching, and got started. AMAZING what your muscle memory can do; I felt like I had just been doing power cleans  yesterday! I did 3 circuits of all the prescribed exercises, some extra ab work, cool down and a stretch. The entire session can make an hour fly by, but I was easing back into it, so I took a little longer.

Then I came home to make…

Cheesy Cauliflower Pasta! This is a recipe I found on Callie’s blog, and it’s pretty darn good. Wanna watch?

Boil the cauliflower and whole wheat penne:

Blend two pieces of whole wheat bread with canola oil, salt n peppa:

Drain the pasta and cauliflower:

Put that back in the pot and add greek yogurt, soy milk, and shredded cheese:

Put the pasta mixture in a pan, top with breadcrumbs and more cheese, and bake at 400 F for about 15 minutes:

Break random things in your kitchen (a magnet? really? I amaze myself):

And voila! Cheesy, healthier comfort food that the whole family (particularly my sister, the picky yet cauliflower-loving gymnast) can enjoy:Me, on the other hand? All I wanted was the green monster I couldn’t drink over the weekend. No worries, I think it made a new friend.

In the mix: a few handfuls of kale, a cup of frozen mango chunks, 1/2 an avocado, 2 scoops of vanilla protein powder, soy milk, ginger, and some Fiber One cereal on top.

Question: What mantra comes to your mind when you’re in a painful situation?

 

Leave a Reply

