Sore After Slumber


I woke up this morning to incredibly sore trapezius muscles and another sore throat. The throat part was disappointing (it only happens after I sleep!) but the feeling of my tired muscles was much-missed. It made BodyFlow, the easier yoga fusion class at the gym, a more meaningful practice.

As did the lovely lunch date that was set for after class.

Ever since I got back from study abroad in Jordan, I’ve been toying (ok, seriously considering) with the idea of becoming a Registered Dietician (RD). I can’t think of a career that would make me happier; when I was abroad, it became joltingly apparent that my top priority is living a healthy, active lifestyle. Such a large part of my healthy lifestyle is nutrition. I think about food so much, it needs to be my career! So this morning I had lunch with an older lady at the gym who has been an esteemed dietician for many years.

She gave me some exclusive ADA (American Dietics Association) articles:

Olive oil, figs, dates, olives, tomatoes…am I back in Jordan again?

(What are the odds that the current issue would have Islamic cuisine as its cover story? Talk about one stage of life leading to another.)

Yoga in elementary schools? How awesome would that be?

We talked for a while about her experience on different dietetic councils, including work in hospitals, public health departments, and schools. Everything sounds fabulous! Having a career with the main goal to help people live their best lives is very important to me. The only thing standing in my way is my inexperience/lack of enthusiasm for science. Regardless, working in nutrition is definitely my pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

This lady is putting me in contacts with lots of professionals around the state that will help guide me towards that goal. Until then, I’m going to concentrate on finishing my undergraduate degree in religion, minoring in education. It all fits together, I swear! 🙂

I was too busy listening and talking to order anything more than a cup of seafood chowder:

I should know better than to order chowder now, but when I heard seafood I couldn’t resist. Even though I mostly fished out the seafood and veggies, cream = unhappy digestion. And heartburn. Lesson learned?

Chill time at home was spent discovering the sport of Kabaddi, which looks a lot like rugby amongst 5 people and no ball. Apparently it’s a popular sport in India and parts of Asia, and Canadians like it too.  I’m still trying to figure it out, but I sent the link to my rugby captain suggesting that we play it sometime for fun! Watch a video and see for yourself.

Looks badass to me.

What also makes me happy? Iranian women playing rugby, hijabs and all.

And huge amounts of kale (with goat cheese & almonds) accompanied with leftover madras curry with shrimp over couscous.

Sweet potato fries round out this happy day.

Sprayed with cooking spray, some salt, and baked for 20 minutes at 400 fantastic degrees of farenheit.

I’m off to take a warm bath to soak my sore muscles.

Question: What’s your favorite sport?

Leave a Reply

