Vegan (Pumpkin) French Toast


French toast isn’t my favorite thing in the world.

When I was little, my mom loved making it for me and my sister. Why? Because she could coat the bread with the egg, giving us some much-needed protein in our picky diets. I remember a lot of force-fed spoons of peanut butter, too.

Eggs aren’t my favorite things in the world, either. Veganizing, however, is easy! It just takes some additions of mushy fruit (banana or pumpkin works best) and flax.

Banana or pumpkin, pumpkin or banana….who am I kidding? It’s December. Pumpkin it is!

Vegan Pumpkin French Toast.

Mix together:

  • 1/4 cup pumpkin (you could even get away with less)
  • 1 tablespoon ground flaxseed meal ( I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • Splash of soy/almond/other non-dairy milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • a few shakes of pumpkin pie spice

Take 2 pieces of bread (I’ve never been into stale; I use whole wheat) and dip them into the mixture. Place them on a nonstick frying pan and flip when toasty. Remove and top with your garnish of choice!

I love any excuse to burn slightly sear banana:

I also love plain greek yogurt as a garnish and a drizzle of honey to top it off.

Don’t even think about getting into the “Is honey vegan?” debate right now.

Just eat your french toast. You need the protein nutrients.

Question: What’s one food you didn’t like when you were a kid?

 

3 responses to “Vegan (Pumpkin) French Toast

  • So glad… | Gratitouille

    […] Gratitouille Tastiness + Thankfulness Skip to content HomeAbout MeWhat’s Gratitouille? ← Vegan (Pumpkin) French Toast […]

  • Babygirl

    I love the bananas on top.. nice post

  • purplebirdblog

    Nice toast!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    To answer your question about dulse, I like it on all kinds of things! I find the dulse is less fishy than the kelp, so I use it on veggies and buttered toast and over soup and in dips… I am pretty partial to the flavor. I had been out of it for a while and just got some more, so I’m excited to reincorporate it back into my meals. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And props for recognizing the Demetri Martin reference, you’re the only one!

Leave a Reply

