Back to School


well, kinda!

This week, I finally crossed off some items on my to-do list. One of those included shadowing….

my old school district’s food services director!

He has a dessert-themed calendar. Hehe.

As you may know, I’m hoping to become a registered dietician (eventually).

But while I’m still in college, I can’t let go of my curiosity about education. I don’t really want to teach, but I’d love working in a school and impacting educational policy. Administration sounds good, but I wanted to see what it would be like to manage the food service!

So I’m trying to get a feel for career options that might combine a few of my interests at once. Michelle Obama is my hero for all she’s doing for combating childhood obesity in America, and I’m so proud of the Let’s Move! campaign.

Side note: Sarah Palin is an idiot.

So much paperwork, but I loved sifting through it!

I had a great day following the food service director around. He was the nicest guy: born and raised in Austria, where he did his apprenticeship as a chef, worked at Yale as their head chef, then took this job to be closer to home and “to make a difference.”

That’s music to any college student’s (or 20 year old’s? or anyone’s?) ears.

Things I liked:

  • School environment
  • Lots of social interaction with students and staff
  • Traveling to different schools around the district
  • Collaboration with local companies
  • Summer vacation!
  • Room for new initiatives (organic milk, more fruits and veggies, whole wheat buns, etc.)
  • Early-starting workday
  • Making life easier for kids with food allergies

Things I could do without:

  • Operating within the school budget
  • Not as much creativity as, say, being a chef or private nutritionist

…I think that’s it?

I love food. I love schools. And as a student who never bought a school lunch (except for taco salad and mozzarella sticks in elementary school), I would love to make changes to school nutrition.

I was bouncing with satisfaction once I left, and hightailed it to the gym.

I did Rugby Weights 2, and then stayed on the treadmill for a looooooong time.

Why? Because I wanted to continue watching The 7 Deadly Sins on the History Channel.

(don’t forget, I am a religion major)

Meal Recap time!

Breakfast was 1 cup plain greek yogurt, 1/2 banana, pomegranate seeds, and almonds.

Post-gym snack was a fat Fuji apple:
I had eaten lunch (the holiday party spread for the kitchen staff!) at school, so my salad was still waiting in the car:

I wasn’t tired yet, so I went to the library, caught up on some internet stuff, and went back to the gym for a Bodycombat class!

It kicked my butt and I’m still sore, but it was worth it.

I had my salad at home:

Spinach (my favorite food ever), almonds, pomegranate seeds, goat cheese, olive oil

And that’s what I call a day. Phew!

Question: What did you want to be when you were in elementary school? My top 3 choices were marine biologist, pro soccer player, and peace maker. Aww yeah.

3 responses to “Back to School

Leave a Reply

