Odd


After a long night of holiday parties, and with less than 6 hours of sleep, Wendy and I hopped it to Core Yoga for some Christmas Eve day sweating.

We’ve been friends since 3rd grade,

which probably explains all the odd things we talk about during a typical car ride.

Today’s topics included:

  • Quakers, particularly quaker weddings
  • Special education with post-traumatic stress eating disorders
  • Speculations about our sisters’ love interests
  • Stolen gingerbread cookies
  • A recent death in the neighborhood
  • Holiday plans
  • Fudge balls with way too much Jack Daniels
  • Boyfriends past and present
  • Body mutilation (we saw Black Swan yesterday…*shudder*)

You could say that we converse with an unusual synthesis of serious, philosophical, and silly.

In that spirit, I present to you a persimmon.

I was at the grocery store last week, feeling conflicted in the produce section as usual. I always get the essentials: spinach, sweet potatoes, bananas, apples…but then I play a little game of “what else can I try without sending my family into debt?”

If money weren’t an issue, I would buy every fruit and vegetable the store had to offer.

Even olives. I would just pass them onto someone else who could stand them.

I was so close to buying a starfruit (it’s just so cute!) but persimmons were a tiny bit cheaper, so I went with it.

You never hear about them, but I saw persimmon cookies over at Jenna’s blog months ago.

This one persimmon has been adorning my oats:

1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 of a persimmon, granola, sunflower seed butter

1/3 cup rolled oats, 1/4 persimmon, 1 banana, lots of cinnamon, peanut butter

And it’s just okay. A little odd that it’s so colorful without much flavor.

Should I just use the pulp next time? Should I bake it? Should I put it in a loaf?

Maybe Wendy and I should discuss it; I’m sure we’ll come up with something…odd.

 

 

3 responses to “Odd

Leave a Reply

