Gotta Move


Since I’m returning to school in Colorado on Friday (!), I spent today flying around like a crazy person. But it was a blissful day; I was doing exactly what I wanted!

  • CoreYoga
  • Food
  • Road trip
  • Friend
  • Coffee
  • Gym
  • Trashy TV

I’m still under 21, so I’m still allowed to watch ABC Family sitcoms without shame. Right?

I’ll defend myself later.

Last night, I made a dinner that did not pass the little sister test.

Eggplant “lasagna” with tomato sauce & parmesan cheese, mixed greens with carrots

I love this eggplant recipe from the Fitnessista; it’s really easy!

We made some tomato sauce

Coated thinly sliced eggplant in a mix of olive oil, garlic and herbs (those are pretty flexible)

and roast at 375 F for 15 minutes on one side, 10 on the other.

Add a salad.Yay vegetables! What wondrous plants. Too bad the sister hates them, and this meal was scowled at. More for me!! ๐Ÿ™‚

The morning came soon enough, as did another tough CoreYoga class.

I came home needing nourishment right away!

Kashi Go Lean Crunch (Honey Flax) + Kashi Cinnamon Harvest, 1/2 banana, blueberries, cinnamon, soymilkI don’t really do “simple” when it comes to cereal. I’m ok with that.

After a 45-minute road trip into the nearest city (New Haven), I was so in need of coffee. However, I ended up choosing a tall chai tea latte with soy milk.

And a good friend to share it with! We hadn’t seen each other in a year, so we had a lot to catch up on.

We discussed the Middle East, homosexuality, veganism, New Orleans, and earrings.

You know, the usual.

After she had to leave, I wandered into a cafe that made me feel instantly better about my diet choices…

The full name is Claire’s Corner Copia: “Vegetarian, organic and sustainable, and Kosher Restaurant….”

I wasn’t hungry, but that didn’t stop me from gawking at the bakery section for a minute.

Sigh.

It was a long trip to make for conversation and gawking, but so worth it. I love New Haven.

I hate cities, but I love this one because it’s got Yale.

And Yale’s gothic architecture is gorgeous.

As is the green…I was once again charmed but this little city, then crushed again.

Oh, fuck.

At least the ticket was just $20 and not $50 like all of Colorado’s are!

And I’m supporting the town of New Haven, right? Good karma…sort of?

After rugby weights #1 and a BodyCombat class at the gym, I picked up dinner at the health food store. A special treat!

$2.49?! Bless you, FoodWorks.

It was even more delicious consumed at a friend’s house watching the season premieres of Pretty Little Liars and Greek.

And with that, it’s time to get ready for another day. Gotta move!

How do you feel about cities? Do they jazz you up or get you down? Cities really bum me out; I like to be surrounded by nature. But if the architecture takes me back to another time, the city grows on me.

8 responses to “Gotta Move

Leave a Reply

