Sleep When I’m Dead


This always happens.

Whenever I come back home to Connecticut, I am just dandy for most of the break. Then, when I have a few days left and realize I haven’t seen everyone I need to see, I load my schedule with a bit more than I can handle.

Of course, I could just say, “I could see you this time and this time and maybe then…” but since I don’t have anywhere I legally need to be (I opted out of work tomorrow. done!), I get tangled trying to work around other’s schedules. It’s all out of love, I swear!

Love can be messy:

The oats jar just fumbled out of my hands. Much like the saran wrap container that I fumbled this summer and managed to slice open my pinkie finger. Long story short…don’t underestimate any exposed blades.

But I digress. I made Beth’s Carrot Cake Oatmeal! And yes, I did use those oats pictured above. The boiling process cancels out the germs, right?

Carrot Cake Oatmeal (adapted from 2 servings to 1)

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used almond)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 banana
  • splash vanilla
  • cinnamon, lots of it
  • 1/2 tbsp ground flax

Throw those in the pot and cook for a few minutes, until nicely melted together. Then add:

  • 1/3 cup grated carrot
  • 1/2 tbsp dried cranberries
  • 1 tbsp dried coconut (i put some on top too)
  • 1/2 tbsp nuts (I used walnuts)

Top with plain greek yogurt and more cinnamon.

If Beth ever opens an oatmeal shop, I will be on the next train to DC.  Thanks girl!

No breakfast is complete without some reading material, even if it is Seventeen. Who says I’m 20?

After breakfast, I was…well….dead. So I slept.

Truth be told, I was struggling through both BodyJam and Bodyflow today. My muscles feel so much better at the end of the day, but they were not happy campers this morning. But that nap was fantastic!

After enjoying one of my sister’s banana chocolate chip mini muffins, I had to run an errand, which was the perfect excuse to run a quick mile at the track afterwards.

Instead of sprints, this year my rugby fitness test (the cardio component) will be a timed mile. I’m ecstatic about that, but I haven’t been running much. Dance has captured my cardio heart for now! But a while ago I busted out a mile:

(This was the last attempt, 1.5 weeks ago. I have new kicks now! And less sunlight.)

And so I did today! I felt a million times faster. I’ll photograph next time.

I took my post-mile blueberries out for a photo shoot:

Oh, Connecticut.

You are so chilly and barren.But of course I’ll still miss you.

Before I knew it, the time had come to take my Dad out for dinner. 70 years old! Holy crow.

I (shamlessly) take advantage of any opportunity to dress up, so I was going to wear a new dress from Banana Republic. However…

I got stuck with the one type of security tag that is impossible to take off yourself! I’ll have to bring it in. Grrrrr.

I opted for the same heels, but with a jean pencil skirt and pearls instead.

20.

And 70!

We went to a vietnamese restaurant, which prompted discussion of many wars, including Vietnam, during which my Dad was in the navy! I love hearing about it. He was in such good spirits that he almost ordered a tofu dish. Voluntarily!! He was DEBATING BETWEEN TWO TOFU DISHES. Who is this man and what has he done with my raw-steak-eating father?!

We got the vegetarian spring rolls and dumplings to start.

(Sis was already makin’ a move)

Squid Sautée for me!

The squid are the white things that look like caterpillars. This was my first experience with them; another seafood crossed off my list!!

I don’t feel the least bit dead, but I have a breakfast date in the morning, so I’d better act like it.

G’night!

What kind of seafood/fish do you like best? Though I don’t eat any other animal flesh, I’m trying to incorporate fish into my diet. One day, I’ll work up to liking salmon and trout! For now, I’m rolling with easy things like shrimp and scallops.

 

 

 

6 responses to “Sleep When I’m Dead

Leave a Reply

