To the mountains, with oatmeal


Thursday started out like any other.

I whipped up some oats…

(1/3 cup coach’s oats, apple, cinnamon, vanilla protein powder)

Transported that breakfast to class so I could eat it leisurely…

(rather, outside of class. I beat the rest of ’em!)

Did the rugby weights routine, came home to lunch…

spinach with nutritional yeast, salsa, and an egg over easy

But then….TO THE MOUNTAINS!

This is a big, big deal for me.

I grew up in Connecticut, so I had my share of skiing in Vermont during high school.

But overall, skiing…meh. I don’t hate it, but don’t love it either!

So I’ve never brought my skis out to school in Colorado, and I’ve definitely never driven hours to the ski slopes up North.

Buuuut since my new roomies are awesome and they do this all the time (ok, everyone does), I decided to join a group for 2 nights in ski country! Good, good decision.

We had a beautiful ride up.There was chili (meat and veggie!) waiting for us at the condo upon arrival.

And lots of fresh snow the next day.

Ok, ready for this? I learned to skateboard when I got to college, but had never snowboarded before.

So I kinda took a leap of faith, borrowed a friend’s board, and hoped for the best.

Success!!!!!! I didn’t even fall when I first attempted the bunny hill.

For those familiar with Colorado skiing, we went to A-Basin the first day and Keystone the next. It was a huge ego boost for me to be shredding up the blue squares on my 2nd day!

Not saying I’m going to fork over hundreds of dollars a ski pass anytime soon, or ask my parents to ship out my skis, but I might indulge a few days to practice my new skills this season. Or just practice my apres-ski.

College kids +Β  ski condo = an odd combination of shenanigans and exhaustion.

(the non-skiers that day made carrot cake!)

others passed out on the floor.

And we did take a break from our heavy consumption of instant oatmeal, eggs, pasta, and alcohol to stop by a favorite bakery!

I passed up cupcakes for an all-time favorite treat of mine: a pumpkin bar! with cream cheese frosting, another all-time favorite. Yummmmmy.

We stopped by this same place on the way home, where I devoured a huge garden salad tuna salad on top πŸ™‚

Oh, and a hemp milk steamer (with toffee nut flavor!!) for the road.

The food coma induced a nap all the way home, and when we arrived I was awake enough to hit the gym for weights. Isn’t that the best?

How’s your weekend so far? Question: Do you ski or snowboard?

 

 

 

8 responses to “To the mountains, with oatmeal

  • whatkateiscooking

    I need that pumpkin bar! I’ve never skiied or snowboarded… I have an intense fear of breaking bones in my face / my legs being forced into unnatural positions. I’m ridiculously clumsy… it’s probably for the best that I’ve never been πŸ™‚

  • purplebirdblog

    I have never been skiing or snowboarding!! I’d like to try skiing… I don’t think my bad knees could handle all the snowboarding jumping and what not!

    • Erica D

      I’d definitely suggest trying skiing first! I don’t even have bad joints, but snowboarding was working so many new muscles that my ankles and knees were definitely hurting. I know my quads are strong, but they did not take kindly to 20-minute runs down the slopes!

  • devan

    I am definatly a snowboarder! πŸ™‚
    Your lunch looks good.. almost makes me want to try eggs again… πŸ™‚

    • Erica D

      My sister has a board back home that she never uses, so I’m thinking of stealing it next time I’m there πŸ˜‰

      And about the eggs…I can’t believe I’ve been eating them! I’ve never really liked eggs, but scrambles have been so easy to throw together for the past week that the option is kind of irresistible. Plus, nutritional yeast works so well with them!

  • Allison @ PickyEatingRD

    Those pics from driving to the mountains are beautiful! What a gorgeous sunset! I am terrible at dealing with cold weather so I have never been skiing or snowboarding. Lame I know!

    • Erica D

      That’s one of the main reasons why I never go! I’m convinced that I have an irrational fear of the cold; even anticipating it makes me uncomfortable! However, puffy jackets and mittens help a ton.

Leave a Reply

