Saturday’s a Rugby Day


Oh my word. I will be SO SORE tomorrow!

And for the first time in 5 months, it won’t because of weights. or yoga. or running.

It’ll be because Saturday was a RUGBY day!

Since I was abroad last semester, it’s been 5 months since I’ve picked up a rugby ball.

5 months since I’ve been swiftly tackled to the ground.

5 months since I’ve been bruised and beaten to a pulp.…and for the most part, loving it.

No more!

Last night, I was so excited to lay out the clothes for the long day ahead:

Snacks/portable breakfast were added later: an apple, pb sandwich, larabar

I did my best to get a semi-decent night’s sleep, then woke up at 6:30 AM to leave at 7 for the 9 AM-4 PM Women’s Rugby Clinic hosted by the Glendale Raptors.

It was a fantastic day! While the rest of the country is drowning in snow, Colorado has been generous with the sunshine and today was no exception; 60 degrees, baby!

And may I just say…it’s so refreshing to play a sport where you will never, ever be mocked for the size of your thighs. In fact, the more muscle you can pack into those quads, the better!

Of course, I couldn’t take any action shots from the sidelines; I was too busy doing them πŸ˜‰

It was a long day, but I didn’t feel worn out until the end of it. That’s a reward for my hard work in the off season! I had a great time running drills for forward players, but now my shins and butt are really feeling it. Scratch that, every part of my body is aching. Plus, I can say I bled today; I totally gashed up two of my fingers!

How? I’m not sure. Turf fields have a knack for roughing up your skin.

All in all, I’m so happy to have gotten back on the field for some pre-spring season action. And to have slapped around bonded with my new teammates:

I love when Saturdays are rugby days!

Question: What is your favorite way to spend a Saturday? Does it involve sports? I grew up always having a game of some sort on either Saturday or Sunday. In fact, I remember using that as an excuse not to go to Sunday school or get confirmed in church. Hehe πŸ™‚

 


 

4 responses to “Saturday’s a Rugby Day

Leave a Reply

