Vegas Baby


Ok, promise not to hate me. Ok? Ok.

Remember how I told y’all about my college’s wacky schedule, otherwise known as the Block Plan? Well, after those 3.5 weeks of a class are up, we have 4 days of freedom (Wednesday afternoon to Monday morning) where we can go do whatever we want. These are called block breaks and they are the perfect (and damn well-deserved!) vacation before the next intense class begins.

Did I mention I'm wearing a sundress today?? Colorado weather is insane.

So yeah…I’m going to Las Vegas. Mwahahah! Just for 2 days, but it’ll be my first time AND my first time drinking in public as a 21-year old (I know, my bday was more than a week ago, but I haven’t had time to go out yet!) with some of my fellow 21-year old girlfriends.

But first, here’s how last night went down.

After I completed my paper in the afternoon, I decided it would be a fabulous time to make some tofu!

I thumbed through my bookmarked recipes and found Tina’s French Toast Baked Tofu. Perfect!

Mixed the almond milk, nutmeg, ginger, cinnamon, & vanilla

Chopped the tofu:

Marinated in the fridge while I was at rugby practice (I also did my laundry during that time! How productive!):

I removed the tofu from the marinade with a slotted spoon, doused the it in a mix of brown sugar and shredded coconut, and popped it all in the oven at 375!

Until it was nice and crispy 🙂

Ok, wait for it.

For lunch, I sauteed an absurd amount of spinach plus 1/2 an onion in coconut oil and balsalmic vinegar

I can see the end!! It needs to be eaten before we all flee campus!

Eew. If there’s anything I hate, it’s rotten produce.

Oh hey! Look who it is!

And they all lived happily ever after.

Topped with nutritional yeast. Apparently I can’t have sauteed vegetables without it now!

And since I’ve been on a mission to finish the spinach, I bet y’all can guess what I had for breakfast.

Oh yes, but not your typical green monster! I woke up with a little bit of a scratchy throat. Since I’m the only roommate in the apartment that hasn’t fallen ill yet (I credit my vitamins!), I blended an orange in instead of a banana. It mostly worked, but it was much more juice-like and I got a few bites of pulp. I didn’t hate it!

I’ll be back by Saturday; expect wonderful party pictures this time! Viva Las Vegas!

Questions: 1. What’s the best vacation you’ve ever taken? When I was in high school, my family won a raffle through our library to stay in someone’s Paris apartment for a week! It was such a treat to stay right in the thick of the city, without the bustle of fellow Americans. I’ll be back someday!

2. Do you have passionate views about pulp? I used to DETEST pulp in my orange juice. Now I love it! Come to think it, I think I opt for chunky texture whenever I have the choice now, whether it’s yogurt…or peanut butter…

 

4 responses to “Vegas Baby

Leave a Reply

