Back to School


It’s amazing how long it’s taken me to even partially recap Vegas. Scandalous clubbing pictures aside, all there’s left to show you is some eats from the journey home!

Though I was kind of still full from my pina colada earlier that day, I bought a cup of tortilla soup from the Wolfgang Puck Express in the airport, mostly because it included goat cheese.

In fact, I was quite disappointed when my gentle command of “You can keep plopping that on!” to the serving lady went unheard. Still, it was delicious!

I applaud Frontier Airlines for the free cookie, too 🙂

I’m not too proud of my dining style during my Vegas “recovery day” at home. Meals were bland like this:

(I thought putting it next to the magazine would make my Daiya cheese & salsa tacos look less sad.)

And meals were random like this:

I wanted Shrimp Lo Mein. Badly.

Other bad choices: frosted flakes, cheese dip, tortilla chips, and way too much coconut ice cream.

But it’s ok, because my roomies came home eventually and made crepes!

Sauteed carrots, bell peppers, & onions + goat cheese. x3. plus another crepe with butter & sugar.

Now, despite our brief mishap with pulling floor tiles out..

We’re pretty much back to normal!

I started today with a green monster smoothie. The perfect way to kick off a detox, I do say!

spinach, 1/2 banana, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, almond milk, cinnamon

I actually blended it the night before and stuck it in the fridge overnight. Bad idea! It doesn’t taste the same when it’s not fresh, and I had to add some honey to sweeten it up.

Lunch was a glorious reunion with two standbys: tofu and veggies.

Coconut tofu, mushrooms, water chesnuts, & spinach, sauteed in coconut oil & balsamic vinegar

I took a nap in this same sunny spot following lunch!

I had a loooong afternoon at ballet and then in the gym trying out a new routine (Fitnessista’s 2011 WSU!), so I came home in dire need of protein. I looked for the greek yogurt

But I made the mistake of having one of my male roommates pick it out at the store, and he got the “traditional” variety that has not a lot of protein and lots more fat. I don’t know if I’ll get around to eating this, since protein is such a huge part of why I eat greek yogurt!

 

I opted for more tofu and an orange instead.

I packed dinner to eat while doing reading later on! Making to-go meals is kind of fun.

Sauteed carrots, snap peas, mushrooms, & goat cheese with olive oil & balsamic vinegar

See? Detox. It’s on.

I leave you with photos of another rugby 21st birthday party!

(February is full of them, and I’m not complaining!)

The birthday girl making good choices.

More maturity.

Cake.

Shots. (the resulting face)

^And me, somewhere in the center of it all 🙂

I hope everyone had a good Presidents’ Day! Did y’all get the day off, and if so, how did you spend it?

Still class for me (although I did just get a break, so I can’t complain!); the only sign of the holiday was that my ballet teacher was decked out in American flag pictures and colors 🙂



3 responses to “Back to School

Leave a Reply

