“You just gotta keep livin’, man! L-I-V-I-N.”


 

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again:

I have so many things in my life to be grateful for.

I love books, but one exceptionally great thing about movies is that you can learn a meaningful lesson from them, super quickly!

The movie we watched today in class was no exception. It was a film about boys living on the street in Morocco, and a group of friends trying to bury their recently-deceased friend.

  • “Life is beautiful!” > “Life is a pile of shit!”
  • Rugby team family > Gang family led by abusive deaf & mute older boy
  • Living in a college apartment > Squatting on a corner of the dock
  • Getting bruised from tackles > Getting killed by a thrown stone
  • Watching your friend break her wrist > Watching your friend get his throat slit
  • Working as a summer camp counselor > Selling random trinkets to drivers stuck in traffic
  • Eating a spectrum of delicious foods > Living off of stolen fish
  • Enjoying life on earth > Fantasizing about life after death I don’t know if I should be sharing this so openly, but y’all are a truly lovely group of readers, so here goes: I don’t think about the afterlife because I love my life on earth too much to want anything more. My afterlife views in a nutshell! Endofstory.

It was especially good to see this earlier in the day, because in my team’s first rugby scrimmage of the season today (!) one of my best friends broke her wrist. Ahh! I didn’t see it up close, but I watched it happen.

The Air Force Academy: such a pretty place to play, until the sun sets behind the mountains.

And God help whoever gets in her way once she’s on the field again. She will be one vicious woman.

These are my legs Wednesday. Tomorrow they'll be much more spotted!

Oh, life.

No fear! There’s still food. Can’t you appreciate it a little more now? πŸ˜‰

Sauteed onions & green bell peppers with nutritional yeast & balsamic vinegar

Mixed greens & carrots with a tarragon & goat cheese socca pancake

Grilled veggies with hummus, salad with wheatberries, whole wheat bread

 

And the standard pb & banana oats, transported to school.

And of course,

shenanigans in the sunshine.

“You just gotta keep livin’, man! L-I-V-I-N.”

(name that movie??)

What’s one thing you’re grateful for in your life?

(Food included, or not!)

8 responses to ““You just gotta keep livin’, man! L-I-V-I-N.”

  • Christin@purplebirdblog

    Dazed and Confused! I met Matthew once.. he’s super nice. πŸ™‚

  • whatkateiscooking

    I love your views on the afterlife- I totally agree! I’m taking a critical thinking class this semester and we covered a lot of religions that focused on the afterlife. I was talking to a friend about it and she said that she believes in reincarnation, so she doesn’t stress when things go her way because she thinks her next life will be better. I don’t know what happens after we die, but I firmly believe in appreciating what we have now in case it’s all that we have πŸ™‚

    • Erica D

      Aw, what a lovely thought! πŸ™‚ When I was first taking Hinduism, my Mom called we one day asking, “Have you been telling your sister about your class? Because suddenly she’s talking about reincarnation this, reincarnation that…” hehe. I definitely like the idea of the cycle of karma better than heaven and hell!

  • Holly

    your posts are hilarious and make me yearn for my younger college days. i would have been right there taking hilarious pictures, eating afghan food (SO good!!) and getting bruises, although mine were not from rugby but rather jumping off objects drunk in college.

    hope all is well dear – MUCH LOVEE!!!!!

  • Lisa

    I guess you’re pretty tough!

    Lots of stuff to be grateful for here—-and I just started making soccas-yours looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

