If I can make it there, I can make it anywhere


That title is referring to vegetarian dining in Oklahoma.

With carnivorous rugby players 🙂

Even though our coach excitedly informed me that there was “one of my kind” on the men’s team, I had already acknowledged that the meal dining-out situation could get hairy. But I am proud to say…I am one skilled menu-reader/order-changer/waiter-questioner. I survived!

The 11 hour car ride from Colorado to Oklahoma was nutritious enough:

Whole wheat bread w/ peanut butter, frozen strawberries

And then we stopped by a Waffle House by our hotel for dinner.

I know.

Usually I looooove an excuse to have breakfast for dinner, but I’ve had Waffle House waffles once before, and I feel sorry for truckers that think they’re the best. Not to be sassy…but there is a bigger, better world of waffles out there.

So what did I do?

May I introduce the “large dinner salad?” Better than nothing.

And two eggs over easy, for protein.

If I can make it there, I can make it anywhere. Yes?

Things went up from there! The next dinner at Saltgrass Steakhouse, I scoured the menu and ordered,

“the side spinach salad, the seasonal veggies, and a baked sweet potato, please.”

I made sure to be extra nice to the waitress, which wasn’t too hard when you’re dining with male rugby players 🙂 No pictures, though, because they don’t know me that well yet and didn’t want to freak them out.

And I had half of the sweet potato for breakfast the next day, with a smear of peanut butter on top! Yummy.

(I just wrote “swear” instead of “smear”. Merely typing “rugby” affects me like that…)

I also got a soy latte or two while getting my coach’s (mandatory) coffees in the morning.

(Her order is a Venti Toffee Nut Latte with Half & Half. I am glad to be a girl who enjoys the simpler things in life!)

Since we girl ruggers didn’t have games to play, our nights were spent terrorizing Norman, Oklahoma, including its late night munchie scene. My belly was often still full from the night before once the morning came, so I basically became a fruititarian (?) by day…

Along with these amazing gummy calcium supplements we shared 🙂 Too cute to pass up!

But the moment of truth was the dinner at…

“Ron’s Burger & Chili Joint.”

Oh dear oh dear. Was I up to it??

Mission accomplished!

Dinner salad (I picked off the horrendous amount of unmentioned bacon & cheese and requested extra black beans) and a grilled cheese, which I didn’t finish because it wasn’t too great. I did polish off some root beer floats, too!

Next time in Oklahoma (let’s hope that never happens), I wanna see what THIS is all about:

Yes, steakhouse sushi. Apparently it’s quite popular, and pricey!

Maybe my teammates and I can steal another pitcher of beer from a downtown bar.

(We never drank it, but kept it as a trophy in the fridge)

Oh, and I’m so done with burger joints.

(That’s fried zucchini and a german chocolate chiller. I’ve had better!)

Thankfully, there are worse ways to spend your spring break than being team moms for the men’s rugby team.

And there are worse ways to spend rainy days than watching the beautiful sport of rugby.

If I can make it in Oklahoma, I can make it anywhere.

But for now, I’m happy to be back in the state of Colorado, where flannel is acceptable evening wear, recycling is your code of living, and vegetarianism is far from a foreign word.

What’s the wackiest state you’ve ever been to? And what’s the weirdest thing you did there?

My Oklahoma highlight was dressing up the only not-21 girl with us to resemble a guy from the men’s team so she could use his ID. It worked, and we went to a strip club. What up, Oklahoma!

3 responses to “If I can make it there, I can make it anywhere

Leave a Reply

