Hours in the Day


 

Hey y’all! How was everyone’s Thursday?

In case you’re wondering about the title, today there were not enough hours in the day.

Usually, I’m pretty accepting of the 24 hours that comprise the time in which the Earth makes a single rotation on its axis.

(Confession: I just looked that fact up. I couldn’t remember if days had to do with the sun? or…the moon?)

Last night, things were deceivingly deliciously normal. I went to bed (teehee) with a brownie drowned in coconut milk:

(Not the best I’ve ever had, but a good compliment to the newest episode of Greek!)

I’ve been so, so good about going to the gym every morning during the school week, but this morning, it was not happening. Too little sleep and too much desire to stay immobile. Last Thursday, I also took it easy…I hate school-run yoga (the instructors are so boring and never figure out how to work the music!) but I took it that week anyway. Maybe I should just do the same every Thursday?

I cleaned my dirty self up with a white shirt, blue jeans, & uggs. So classically American! Oh, except for the exquisitely bold Jordanian keffiyeh around my neck.

I actually had an impromptu meeting with one of the school’s Arabic professors today. What a lucky coincidence! Mumtaz! [Excellent]

I walked out the door with this monster…

spinach, 1/2 avocado, 1/2 banana, 1/2 scoop protein powder, coconut milk

Today, my professor asked me, “Are you eating parsley for breakfast?”

I was happy to explain what I was slurping down, and made the girl sitting next to me try it. She liked it, obvi 🙂

Note to self: Don’t leave your notebook on your apartment’s living room table. Philosophical ramblings and other remarks may appear:

Haha, thanks roomies!

After class began the epic quest to find an off-campus house/get a lease signed for next year. Oy vey!

In short…lots of frustration, lots of politics, lots of unfortunate girl drama. We’re still on the edge of our decision, but I think we’ll pull through all right. Details later!

I finally got home at 3 PM (I had breakfast at (9:30 AM…thank goodness it was filling!) to make a quick lunch:

What a change from the past few days, right?

Asparagus, grape tomatoes, tempeh, & chickpeas, sauteed in olive oil & balsamic vinegar and topped with nutritional yeast. I also added in some ginger, garlic powder, and tarragon leaves while cooking. Yum!

Then I had to rush out again for more lease questing, a meeting, and a study group. My dinner was an apple and an orange since I was on the go all evening. Bad, I know! But now I’m home, stressed, and not hungry. All I want to do is read some lovely blogs, watch Desperate Housewives, and get the sleep necessary to both exercise and ace my midterm tomorrow.

Wish me luck and have a fantastic Friday!!


7 responses to “Hours in the Day

Leave a comment